Thanksgiving Musings//

I do not really know what inspired the writing below. It was Thanksgiving morning– amazing smells were already wafting upstairs into my room. I was comfortably settled in my fuzzy chair, Bible and journal in hand. I just started writing with the theme of “Let us be honest with God.” So many people these days sadly fool others. They fool themselves. But saddest of all? They think that they can fool God. Not so, dear friend.

11.26.20 Let us be honest with God. He can already see into our hearts and minds, everything. Let us stop playing games with God. Let us remember who we are. Bones, skin, cells. I could exit this life by a half inch lead object racing out of a revolver. I am not immortal. I am not invincible. I am not some super human that has super powers. Let us get real and remember who made us. God. We are, literally, at the disposal of God. He- not us- is the one who calls the shots. We have reason to be afraid of Him. You might be shaking in your boots right now.

But. Great word, that. God is not fear and rejection. God is love. Love provided a way. Because He is love, He didn’t want eternity without us. You. The way of salvation has come and been made. Accept it. Believe it. Trust it. Live your life in surrender to it. Ready to take the sword for it. And you can stop shaking in your boots because of it. When you let Him into your heart, you can stop fearing a God that you thought hates you. Stop fearing a dark world that keeps throwing “what-ifs” your way. Caskets, thunder storms, bruised knees.

Strengthen your feeble legs and arms. Salvation has come. Press on, dear heart. Glory is ahead.

xoxo Lydia

Leave a comment